Sep 2, 2015

The Poetry of "Elements"

For our Elements episode we were lucky enough to collaborate with two enormously talented groups of artists, Sylvan Esso and Emotive Fruition. Sylvan Esso composed "Jaime's Song", Emotive Fruition called out to its community of poets and asked for work inspired by the periodic table. Dozens of poets responded, and those poems were then performed by a group of actors in front of a live audience. We loved the work but only had room for a small sampling of the poems in the episode, so here now is the full evening.

Thomas Dooley is the creator of Emotive Fruition and he writes: "Emotive Fruition wants to change the way people experience live poetry. When we bring together poets and actors, a kind magic happens: the poems written on the page come to life on stage. When Jad and Robert asked us to put together an evening of poems that celebrated the elements, we got to work to assemble a chorus of voices as varied as the table itself. Enjoy these atomically funny, heartbreakingly geeky, and soul stirring elemental poems."

Curated and directed by Thomas Dooley.

Featuring Joniece Abbott-Pratt, Ramsey Faragallah, Lameece Issaq, and Sam Breslin Wright.

Poems written by KC Trommer, Jameson Fitzpatrick, Sarah Sala, Monica Wendel, Chrissy Malvasi, Mary Block, Becca Myers, Nicole Callihan, Theta Pavis, Jason Schneiderman, Lauren Neefe, Peter Longofono, Ama Codjoe, Jason Baker, Arden Levine, Matthew Rohrer, William Dowd, Ryan Siegel-Stechler, Jeff Musillo, Geer Austin, Brandon Menke, Dustin Luke Nelson, Carly Rubin, Christina Quintana, Julia Guez, Jerome Murphy, David McLoghlin, Emily Brandt, Emily Hockaday, and Jackie Sherbow.


THE LAB sticker

Unlock member-only exclusives and support the show

Exclusive Podcast Extras
Entire Podcast Archive
Listen Ad-Free
Behind-the-Scenes Content
Video Extras
Original Music & Playlists